Review: The Force Unleashed II: Endor DLC Pack

I know, I know, I haven’t reviewed the full game yet. I’d imagine this is gonna turn into Alan Wake, as in, I’ll review all of the DLCs but not the full game. Anyway, as the title suggests, this is a review of the recently released Endor DLC Pack for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II. Also, be warned, there WILL be some spoilers ahead, so don’t read if you don’t wish to know the bad ending of the story. Hope you all enjoy it!

If you’ve played the full game, you’ll know The Force Unleashed II was fairly short. Question is, will the DLC lengthen the game by a substantial amount of time? The answer… No.

Before I get into all that length vs. cost malarkey, let me give you the brief details of the story. An evil clone of Starkiller, the one who kills the “clone” of Starkiller in the full game, is sent by none other than Darth Vader himself to Endor, to destroy the Rebel Alliance. You’ll meet some familiar faces along the way, such as Han Solo, Chewbacca, Princess Leia and those ever so hairy and adorable Ewoks. Without giving away the ending, there really isn’t much more I can tell you all about the story.

As far as gameplay goes, it’s the same as the full game, which, for those not in the know, is basically; Slash, slash, lighting, slash. Of course, you have other Force powers, such as Mind-Trick, Fury, Push etc. which you can use to wipe out those pesky Rebels. That’s it for gameplay, really.

Okay, now you may be asking yourself this: Why should I buy this DLC? From what you’ve been saying, it doesn’t sound very good.
Why should you buy it? Because it’s 80 Microsoft Points. You read that correctly. 80, eight-zero, Microsoft Points. Considering you get a new campaign, and 8 new achievements, that isn’t a bad price. Normally, you’ll find that developers will make a half-assed DLC and slap an 800 MSP price on it. And, because people love that game, and will buy any DLC that they release, they know for a fact that they can get away with ripping customers off. Not the case here. I was quite surprised when I read the price tag, otherwise I would never have bought this DLC.

Graphically, the DLC is round about the same as the full game. Same with the soundtrack, it’s still that awesome Star Wars music that you’ll never hate. Sadly though, it’s very short, only taking me about an hour on the normal difficulty level.

So, if you own The Force Unleashed II, and have some spare Microsoft Points, you might want to consider buying this DLC.

Pros:

  • It’s a new campaign for an awesome game
  • It’s incredibly cheap, being only 80 MSP
  • The game still looks beautiful

Cons:

  • It’s incredibly short
  • Graphics, while still good, are not quite up to par with the full game, bizarrely enough

Whilst it isn’t the best DLC out there, it’s pretty damn cheap, and any TFUII fan would be a fool not to pick it up.

Final Verdict: 6/10.

About Tom Williams (@iPwnCake)
Hello there! I'm Tom. I love gaming and Sonic plus I'm a furry! ^^ I'm a massive gamer, so expect full game and DLC reviews from me, as well as the odd XBLA game review. I own an Xbox 360, PS3 and a Wii so feel free to add me on Xbox Live or PSN (don't play my Wii much). I will most likely be reviewing older seventh gen games, say from 2008 or 2009 and so on. Thanks, and I hope ya enjoy my work! XBL GT: Pro ToM 10 PSN ID: thecandy117 Twitter: iPwnCake

Leave a Reply

