Call of Juarez The Cartel – First (albeit LATE) Reactions

Ubisoft  announced the next installment in the epic Western series, Call of Juarez. Except this time, the story is set in modern day Los Angeles. Have Ubisoft screwed up the series? Or have they got a genius idea in the works? Here are my first reactions to the news.

First of all, let me just say this article isn’t going to be very long, for obvious reasons. We’ve only got some cover art and a Ubisoft press-release to go on, so I might not have much to discuss here, just my general first thoughts.

I’m gonna admit to this now; I never played the original Call of Juarez. I’ve only played Bound in Blood, which was an EPIC game. One of my favourites, for sure. I’ve seen a few gameplay videos of the original on YouTube, and it looked pretty good, but I just never got around to purchasing it. Now, as we all know, Call of Juarez is a Western game. That’s its strong point. Aside from Red Dead Redemption, it’s the only decent Western game that I know of. So how did I feel when I found out that my favourite Western series had been turned into a modern day, run-of-the-mill shoot ’em up? If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll remember that I was pissed right off, to say the least.

Call of frickin’ Juarez. A modern day shooter. I thought it was a joke when I read the title on that ever damning Game Spot article that popped up in my feed on that sad, sad day. Curious, I read on. After finishing reading that mother-ducking article, I gradually realized, with horror, that the article was, in fact, real. A part of my inner gaming-nerd died inside. I can’t sum up my true feelings, as there would be too many swear words which would make my laptop explode.

Here’s the gist of my thoughts:

Fail.

So yeah, fail. I’ll pre-order the game, but my God I know it’ll fail. I hope it’s good, I really do, for the sake of the franchise…

There’s a quick little article for you guys. I know, it’s short, and I apologize for the lack of articles on behalf of everyone. We’ve all been tied down by various types of schoolwork and such.

Thanks for reading guys, I’ll get some more articles up soon, I promise!

Tom W.

About Tom Williams (@iPwnCake)
Hello there! I'm Tom. I love gaming and Sonic plus I'm a furry! ^^ I'm a massive gamer, so expect full game and DLC reviews from me, as well as the odd XBLA game review. I own an Xbox 360, PS3 and a Wii so feel free to add me on Xbox Live or PSN (don't play my Wii much). I will most likely be reviewing older seventh gen games, say from 2008 or 2009 and so on. Thanks, and I hope ya enjoy my work! XBL GT: Pro ToM 10 PSN ID: thecandy117 Twitter: iPwnCake

Leave a Reply

